Dancing in the Aisles

I’ve just been to my first ever African church services and I still can’t stop smiling. Mind you I wasn’t smiling when we had to leave at 6.30am to get to the first service which started at 7. It was an English service held in St John Methodist Church in Accra where Rev Dr Heather Morris gave the sermon.

The second was in St Peter Methodist Church and it was in the local language. Neil and I had to sit at the front in both services, so it was hard to tell when we were meant to be standing or sitting as we couldn’t really see anyone else. It didn’t really matter though as the whole atmosphere was warm and welcoming.

The singing was fantastic. No slowmoving hymns here, it was all passion and rhythm. And as for the dancing –  what can I say? I think we should all dance up to the front of the church to give our offering. I think I may have even been caught on camera getting into the spirit of it too.

There were 7 offering boxes  at the front, labelled for each day of the week. I panicked because I thought it meant there were going to be 7 offerings and I didn’t have enough money with me. The Rev John Acheampong explained that you only put your offering into the box for the day of the week that you were born on. 

Ghanians talk a lot about this and I was only here a day when someone asked me what day of the week I was born on. I didn’t know then but I have since found out it was Monday.  People also get a name which reflects their birth day as well so apparently you can tell that Kofi Annan was born on a Friday – I think it is do with the ‘ko’ part of his name.

The whole church experience was a feast for the eyes, the ears and the soul. The women here in Ghana dress so beautifully, it was dazzling to watch them all dance past as they gave up their offering. It wass as if this was God’s own carnival and I felt really blessed to be part of it.

 

 

 

About rosamondbennett

CEO of Christian Aid Ireland, arts lover, avid reader and mother
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

